Junior jury

PIANO 2024 – Junior Jury

Piano 2024

For the first time in its history, the CMIM is proud to welcome an Junior Jury, made up of nine students in advanced piano studies in Montreal. With an informed and fresh perspective, they will be responsible for evaluating the 24 competing pianists and awarding, at the end of the First Round of the Competition, the “Junior Jury Prize”, valued at $1,000.

This adventure already promises to be an exceptional experience, full of discoveries and encounters that will allow these Montréal student pianists to enrich their professional careers and develop their critical outlook.

The Junior Jury is chaired by Janelle Fung, pianist and professor at the Conservatoire de musique de Montréal. The members are students at the Conservatoire de musique de Montréal, the Schulich School of Music at McGill University, and at the Faculty of Music at the University of Montréal.

Janelle Fung, Junior Jury President

Born in Vancouver, Canadian pianist Janelle Fung has performed across Canada and in over twenty countries on five continents. Her first solo album, Aubade, received glowing reviews and a nomination for the Prix Opus for album of the year. Fung holds degrees from the Eastman School of Music and The Juilliard School, and a doctorate from the Université de Montréal. She has made her home in Montreal since 2010 and has been professor of piano of the Conservatoire de musique de Montréal since 2022.  


Conservatoire de musique de Montréal

Joon Oh Kim

Joon Oh won the Prix Québecor and the Monik Grenier prize at the Prix d’Europe 2022 competition and has made a name for himself with concerts in Canada, the U.S., Mexico and Europe. He is currently studying for a master’s degree.

Kris Sossoulo

Kris Sossoulo began his musical career with the Petits Chanteurs du Mont-Royal. In 2023, he won first prize at the Canadian Music Competition, and the Note de Cœur prize at the Concours de musique de la Capitale.

Tu Linh Vu

Born in Montreal, Tu Linh Vu is of Vietnamese origin.  She has distinguished herself at the CMC Québec Competition (1st prize), the Concours de musique de la Capitale (Prix coup de cœur) and the Canadian Music Competition (1st prize), among others. 


Schulich School of Music at McGil University


Dane Ko 

Hong Kong-born Canadian pianist Dane Ko is an active recitalist, chamber musician and educator. Dane was a prizewinner at the 2023 Concours Prix Ravel in Fontainebleau, currently pursues the Doctor of Music degree. 

Mai Miyagaki

Raised in Japan and the U.S., Mai has performed at the Musical Chairs Music Festival and on tour with Quatuor Aeternum Netherlands tour. She is currently pursuing doctoral studies in collaborative piano. 

Veola Sun

A doctoral student, Veola made her orchestral debut in 2019 with the UCLA Philharmonia and was a winner of McGill’s 2023 Classical Concerto Competition. As a collaborative pianist she has taken part in Decoda’s Chamber Music Institute and the Við Djúpið Festival in Iceland.


Université de Montréal Faculty of Music


Sara Sierra Jaramilla

Sara Sierra, a pianist from Colombia, has performed at prestigious venues like Biblioteca Luis Ángel Arango concert hall in Bogotá, Colombia and the Cartagena Music Festival. She is currently pursuing a doctoral degree.

Fabrizzio Vargas Saavedra 

An award-winning Mexican pianist, Fabrizzio has performed with orchestras in Mexico and Costa Rica and is currently pursuing doctoral studies in piano performance.

Fiona Wu

A native of Toronto, Fiona is pursuing a doctorate in piano performance. She is particularly noted for her interpretations of the music of J.S. Bach.


Piano 2024 - Tickets

Donate to the CMIM