CMIM 2016: Detailed Schedule of the Quarter-Final Round CMIM 2016: Detailed Schedule of the Quarter-Final Round

Montréal, Sunday, May 22, 2016 – Following a random draw earlier today, the Competition officials reveal the order of appearance and detailed schedule for the 23 violinists (down from 24 after a  last-minute withdrawal from German candidate Albrecht Menzel) participating in the quarter-final round at Bourgie Hall.



1st session 2:30 p.m.

Ioana Cristina Goicea (Romania)

Anna Göckel (France)

Mai Suzuki (Japan)

Diana Pasko (Russia)

2nd session 7:30 p.m.

Sirena Huang (United States)

Fedor Rudin (France – Russia)

Christine Lim (United States – South Korea)

Minami Yoshida (Japan)



3rd session 2:30 p.m.

Elina Buksha (Latvia)

Petteri Iivonen (Finland)

Ayana Tsuji (Japan)

Richard Lin (Taiwan – United States)

4th session 7:30 p.m.

Xiao Wang (China)

Rika Masato (Japan)

Woo Hyung Kim (South Korea)

Anna Lee (South Korea)



5th session 2:30 p.m. 

Clémence de Forceville (France)

Bomsori Kim (South Korea)

Daniel Cho (United States)

Gyehee Kim (South Korea)

6th session 7:30 p.m. 

Laura Bortolotto (Italy)

Elly Suh (United States – South Korea)

Ji Won Song (South Korea)


The complete musical programme of each candidate is available at

The semi-finalists will be announced following the last quarter-final session on Wednesday, May 25. Twelve violinists will be chosen for the semifinals and six for the finals. The quarter-final (May 23, 24, and 25) and semifinal (May 27 and 28) recitals with piano accompaniment take place in Bourgie Hall. The finals (May 30 and 31) and gala concert (June 2) take place at the Maison symphonique, with the Orchestre symphonique de Montréal (OSM) led by guest conductor Giancarlo Guerrero.

The gala concert will be presented on Thursday, June 2 at 7:30 p.m., also at Maison symphonique with the OSM and Maestro Guerrero, with surprises in store for the audience. Rather than reveal the results right after the Finals, the top three prizewinners, as well as the winners of all the special awards, will be announced at the awards ceremony preceding the gala concert on June 2. And there will be surprise performances.

The international jury for this edition includes Pierre Amoyal (France); Boris Brott (Canada); Boris Garlitsky (Russia -France); Ida Kavafian (Armenia – United States); Mihaela Martin (Romania); Vera Tsu Wei-Ling (China); and Kathleen Winkler (United States). André Bourbeau, Co-Founder and Chairman of the CMIM, will act as non-voting president of the jury

All three rounds of the CMIM, as well as the gala concert, will be webcast live on and will be available on demand on its YouTube channel. The finals and gala concert will also be webcast live and available on demand for three months on, global leader in classical music content.  

Experience the CMIM first-hand and come support the competitors – the best musical athletes in the world!

  • Finals and gala concert – The Place des Arts box office: com | 514 842-2112 | 1 866 842-2112.
  • Quarter-final and semifinal rounds – Bourgie Concert Hall, Montreal Museum of Fine Arts: | 514 285-2000, option 4.