Mari Kodama Piano 2021

Mari Kodama
Japan

Participating at #CMIM2022

MasterClass Piano 2021 | Beethoven with Mari Kodama

Japanese pianist Mari Kodama is deeply attached to the music of Beethoven. She has recorded all of his 32 sonatas on the Pentatone label. In this series of masterclasses, she explores music from the early, middle, and late periods of the great German composer.

 

Piano 2021

Jury 2021  

 

Pianist Mari Kodama has established an international reputation, garnering praise for her musical sensitivity and outstanding virtuosity. In performances throughout Europe, the United States, and Japan, she has consistently demonstrated the profound aesthetics of her very personal and unique style. She has played with such orchestras as the Berliner Philharmoniker, the London Philharmonic, the Philharmonia Orchestra, the Hallé Orchestra, the Orchestre symphonique de Montréal, the Wiener Symphoniker, the Los Angeles Philharmonic, and the Berkeley Symphony.

She made her New York recital debut at Carnegie’s Weill Recital Hall in 1995. Her US festival appearances include the Bard Music Festival, California’s Midsummer Mozart Festival, the Ravinia Festival, and the Aspen Music Festival. In Europe, she has appeared at festivals in Lockenhaus, Montpellier, Salzburg, Aix-en-Provence, Aldeburgh, Verbier, and Évian, among others. Ms. Kodama is also a co-founding artistic director of the Musical Days at Forest Hill, a festival of chamber music presented in San Francisco, along with her husband Kent Nagano.

Born in Osaka, Mari Kodama left Japan as a child and was raised in Europe. At the Conservatoire National Supérieur de Musique de Paris, she studied with Germaine Mounier and Geneviève Joy-Dutilleux. She then furthered her studies with Tatiana Nikolaeva at the Salzburg Mozarteum, and became a private pupil of Alfred Brendel.

Mari Kodama Piano 2021

Mari Kodama
Japon

Première épreuve - Aria

Classe de maître | Beethoven avec Mari Kodama
La pianiste japonaise Mari Kodama est profondément attachée à la musique de Beethoven. Elle a enregistré l’intégralité de ses 32 sonates sur l’étiquette Pentatone. Dans cette série de classes de maître, elle explore la musique du début, du milieu et de la fin de l’œuvre du grand compositeur allemand.

 

Piano 2021

Jury 2021  

 

Grâce à sa grande sensibilité et sa virtuosité éblouissante, la pianiste Mari Kodama jouit d’une réputation internationale tout à fait méritée. Elle s’est produite sur les plus grandes scènes d’Europe, des États-Unis et du Japon, démontrant un style très personnel, empreint d’une profonde musicalité. Elle a joué avec des orchestres renommés tels que les Orchestres philharmoniques de Berlin et de Londres, l’Orchestre Philharmonia, l’Orchestre Hallé et les Orchestres symphoniques de Montréal, Vienne, Berkeley et Los Angeles.

Aux États-Unis, elle a fait ses débuts en récital au Carnegie’s Weill Recital Hall de New York en 1995 et on a pu l’entendre lors de festivals d’envergure tels que le Bard Music Festival, le California’s Midsummer Mozart Festival, le Festival de Ravinia et le Festival de musique d’Aspen. En Europe, elle a participé notamment aux festivals de Lockenhaus, Montpellier, Salzbourg, Aix-en-Provence, Aldeburgh, Verbier et Évian. Avec son mari, Kent Nagano, Mme Kodama est également fondatrice et directrice artistique des Musical Days de Forest Hill, un festival de musique de chambre présenté à San Francisco. Elle compte à son actif une imposante discographie où figure en bonne place l’intégrale des Sonates de Beethoven sous étiquette Pentatone.

Née à Osaka, Mari Kodama a grandi en Europe. Ayant d’abord étudié au Conservatoire national supérieur de musique de Paris avec Germaine Mounier et Geneviève Joy-Dutilleux, puis au Mozarteum de Salzburg avec Tatiana Nikolaeva, elle a ensuite perfectionné son art auprès d’Alfred Brendel.